Levels of government in Australia - text version

National

Australia has ONE National Parliament. The Federal Government and Parliament are responsible for matters such as:

- defence
- · trade and commerce
- communications
- international relations
- quarantine
- immigration
- currency
- tax
- as well as providing funding for social services, education, health, transport and many other matters.

State and Territory

There are SIX states and TWO Territories. State and Territory Governments and Parliaments are responsible for matters such as:

- energy and water resources
- local government
- health
- police and emergency services
- planning
- agriculture
- education
- environment
- roads and railways

Local Government

There are about 565 Local Governments in Australia. NSW has 152 Councils. Local Councils are responsible for matters such as:

- waste collection
- local planning
- local health inspection
- libraries
- parks
- · sports facilities
- local roads.



1